All the Pretty Horses (Vintage Edition)

MSRP: $16.95
(You save $7.96 )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Very Good
Paperback, 302 pages
Vintage Books, 1993
First Vintage International Books Edition, Fifth Printing
The Border Trilogy #1

The first volume in the Border Trilogy, from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Road

All the Pretty Horses tells of young John Grady Cole, the last of a long line of Texas ranchers. Across the border Mexico beckons—beautiful and desolate, rugged and cruelly civilized. With two companions, he sets off on an idyllic, sometimes comic adventure, to a place where dreams are paid for in blood.

Editorial Reviews

"All the Pretty Horses is an American classic to stand with the finest literary achievements of the century."  --San Francisco Chronicle

"A true American original." --Newsweek

"All the Pretty Horses' elegiac rhythm captures the badlands of Texas and northern Mexico with a passion most writers either couldn't muster or wouldn't dare." --Boston Globe

"McCarthy puts most other American writers to shame.  [His] work itself repays the tight focus of his attention with its finely wrought craftsmanship and its ferocious energy." --New York Times Book Review

About the Author

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in 1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), and All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992.