Selected Poems of Thomas Merton

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Very Good
Paperback, 140 pages
New Directions, 1967
A New Directions Paperbook Enlarged Edition, Nineteenth Printing

For this enlarged edition of his Selected Poems Father Merton added seventeen poems from Emblems of a Season of Fury (1963).  The poems from earlier books--Thirty Poems, A Man in the Divided Sea, Figures for an Apocalypse, Tears of the Blind Lions, The Strange Islands--are from Emblems shows the poet's increasing engagement with life outside the monastery and his strong concern for modern social issues.  This volume offers a more representative sampling of the work of a prominent Catholic poet and one of the most vital American poets of this century.

With an Introduction by Mark Van Doren

About the Author

Thomas Merton (1915-1968) is widely acclaimed as one of the most influential spiritual masters of the 20th Century. A monk, poet, spiritual writer, and social activist, he is perhaps best known for his spiritual autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain. While his writing demonstrated a love for the natural world, When the Trees Say Nothing brings his words on nature together in one place for the first time.